Ir al contenido principal de la página


  • President

    Fernando Galván Reula

    Catedrático de Filología Inglesa


    FERNANDO GALVÁN (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, 1957) holds a B.A. degree in English (1979) and a PhD in English (1981) from the University of La Laguna, Tenerife, where he was appointed, in 1990, Full Professor of English. Since 1994 he is Full Professor of English at the University of Alcalá, Madrid. He has been awarded honorary Doctorates from the University of Glasgow (DLitt, 2012), from the National Autonomous University of Nicaragua in León (2012), from the National University of Villarrica del Espíritu Santo in Paraguay (2014) and from San Sebastián University in Chile (2016). In 1993 and 1994 he was Visiting Scholar at the Department of Comparative Literature of Harvard University; in 1994 he became a member of IAUPE (International Association of University Professors of English); in 2003 he was appointed as Corresponding Fellow of The English Association, in the UK; and in October 2009 Visiting Fellow of Corpus Christi College, and Associate Member of the Faculty of English of the University of Oxford. He has also been distinguished with the Academic Order “Simón Bolívar” by the University Simón Bolívar in Colombia (2010), with an Honorary Diploma from the Federal University of the South in Rostov, Russia (2011), as Honorary Member of the University of La Serena, in Chile (2012), and as Honorary Fellow of the National Academy of History and Geography of UNAM, Mexico (2016). He has received as well the Order of Bernardo O’Higgins in the category of Commander from the President of the Republic of Chile (November 2013), which is the highest civilian honour awarded to non-Chilean citizens.

    He has received a number of research grants and distinctions from the German DAAD ("Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst"), the British Council, and other Spanish prestigious institutions. In his capacity as a philologist, he has held important responsibilities at a national and international level: as President of the Spanish Association for Anglo-American Studies (AEDEAN: 1996-2002); President of the European Society for the Study of English (ESSE: 2007-2013); Board member of those institutions in other periods (AEDEAN: 1992-1995; ESSE: 2001-2005), as well as member of the Board of the European Association for American Studies (EAAS: 1993-1999), and of the Spanish Association for Comparative Literature (SELGYC: 1995-2006).

    He is Advisory Editor for some twenty peer-reviewed journals in English Studies both in Spain and in other European countries. He has served as a member of numerous committees in teaching and research quality assessment for Higher Education, such as the National Evaluation Agencies of the Ministry of Education and Science of Spain (ANECA, ANEP and CNEAI), several regional Spanish agencies (AGAE, AGAUR, ACSUCYL), the French Evaluation Agency for Research and Higher Education (AERES), and the Italian National Agency for Universities and Research (ANVUR). He is also a member of the Boards of Instituto Cervantes and of Universia Spain, as well as a member of the Executive Committee of this latter organization.

    Read more

    He has an extensive teaching and research experience, covering English fiction, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, literary translation from English into Spanish, as well as comparative literary and cultural studies for English-speaking and Spanish-speaking countries. He has edited and translated into Spanish many English classics, such as Philip Sidney, John Milton, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Richardson, Henry Fielding, William Wordsworth, Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde, James Joyce, Joseph Conrad, George Orwell or Graham Greene. He is the author of books on Medieval English Literature, and on English novelists such as Charles Dickens, George Orwell, Doris Lessing, John Fowles, David Lodge, Ian McEwan, or Salman Rushdie. He has also edited half a dozen volumes of critical essays on topics related to Mary Wollstonecraft, English metafiction, magical realism, or culture and power. He has authored more than a hundred articles and book chapters on English poets like William Cowper, William Wordsworth, John Clare or Basil Bunting, and on many contemporary writers in English: D.H. Lawrence, Muriel Spark, William Golding, Harold Pinter, Angela Carter, D.M. Thomas, Michèle Roberts, Hilary Mantel, Bruce Chatwin, Amit Chaudhuri, Louis de Bernières, Caryl Phillips, Anita Desai, J.M. Coetzee, Cormac McCarthy, etc.

    He has held numerous relevant jobs in the administration of the University for more than 30 years: at the University of La Laguna, Tenerife, as Secretary of the Faculties of Philosophy and Letters, and Philology (1981-1984), and Head of the Department of Modern Languages (1983, 1988-89 and 1991-1992); and at the University of Alcalá, as Head of the Department of Modern Languages (1995-2002), Vice Rector (Vice President) for Departments (2002-2006) and Vice Rector for Academic Planning and Staff (2006-2008). He is currently the Rector (President) of the University of Alcalá, elected for the period 2010-2014, and reelected for a second period 2014-2018. He also chaired, in 2013, the Conference of Presidents of the Universities of Madrid (CRUMA, in Spanish). He is a member as well of the Executive Committee of the International Association of University Presidents (IAUP), and as of January 2014 chairs the Commission for Sustainability of the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE, in Spanish).

Vice Presidents

Secretary General

  • Secretary General

    Dr. D. Miguel Rodríguez Blanco

    Catedrático de Derecho Eclesiástico del Estado

    Secretary General


  • Management

    Dr. D. Rubén Garrido Yserte

    Profesor Titular de Economía Aplicada